Sentry Tournament of Champions Winner’s Circle: July

Kapalua, Maui, Hawaii – The Sentry Tournament of Champions returns as the opening event of the 2024 PGA TOUR Regular Season at The Plantation Course at Kapalua during the first week of January. The TOUR’s annual stop on Maui welcomes TOUR winners from the previous calendar year and the top 50 players from the final FedExCup standings. With their recent titles during the month of July, Rickie Fowler, Sepp Straka, Rory McIlroy, Vincent Norrman, Brian Harman, Akshay Bhatia, and Lee Hodges are the latest players to qualify for the 2024 Sentry Tournament of Champions.

Rocket Mortgage Classic

Fowler defeated Collin Morikawa and Adam Hadwin with a birdie-3 on the first playoff hole to record his sixth PGA TOUR title. The win came four years, four months, and 29 days since he won the 2019 WM Phoenix Open, marking the longest victory drought of his TOUR career. The title qualified the 34-year-old for his fifth trip to the Sentry Tournament of Champions where he has four top-6 finishes in as many appearances (T6/2013; 5/2016; T4/2018; T5/2020).

John Deere Classic

Austrian Straka beat Brendon Todd and Alex Smalley by two strokes to earn his second TOUR title, and first since the 2022 Honda Classic. The 30-year-old sat T133 after the first round, marking the lowest position of a PGA TOUR winner on record (since 1983), and went on to become the first player since David Frost in 1992 to win the John Deere Classic with an over-par round during the week. Straka’s victory qualified him for his appearance at The Plantation Course at Kapalua where he finished T21 in his lone appearance in 2023.

Genesis Scottish Open

McIlroy won the Genesis Scottish Open by one stroke over Robert MacIntyre for his 24th career TOUR title and tie Dustin Johnson and Gary Player for 26th on the all-time PGA TOUR wins list. The Northern Irishman became the first player to win the Genesis Scottish Open (2023), Horizon Irish Open (2016) and

The Open Championship (2014). The 34-year-old qualified for a return trip to the Sentry Tournament of Champions, where he finished T4 in 2019 in his lone appearance.

Barbasol Championship

PGA TOUR rookie Vincent Norrman defeated Nathan Kimsey with a par-4 on the first extra playoff hole to win the Barbasol Championship for his first TOUR title in his 23rd career start on TOUR. The 25-year-old became the first player from Sweden to win on TOUR since 2017 (Henrik Stenson/Wyndham Championship) and joined Scott Piercy (2015), Grayson Murray (2017), and Jim Herman (2019) as winners in their debut appearance at the event. Norrman’s victory qualified him for his first trip to Maui and the Sentry Tournament of Champions.

The Open Championship

In his 30th career start in a major, Harman defeated Tom Kim, Straka, Jason Day and Jon Rahm by six strokes to win The Open Championship. The victory marks the 36-year-old’s third career TOUR win (2014 John Deere Classic, 2017 Wells Fargo Championship) and first major championship title. The Georgia native entered the week with 29 top-10s on TOUR since the start of the 2017-18 season, which was the most of any player without a win in that span. With his win, Harman qualified for his fourth appearance at the Sentry Tournament of Champions (T17/2015; 3/2018; T16/2023).

Barracuda Championship

Bhatia beat Patrick Rodgers with a par-4 on the first extra playoff hole to win the Barracuda Championship, earning his first TOUR title and joining the PGA TOUR as a full-time member. The 21-year-old joined the TOUR as a Special Temporary Member after the 2023 Puerto Rico Open (2nd) and is the first Special Temporary Member to win on TOUR since Tom Kim at the 2022 Wyndham Championship. The Barracuda Championship employed the Modified Stableford scoring format in which players are allocated points based on the number of strokes taken at each hole with the goal of achieving the highest overall score. The win qualified the California native for his first trip to Maui and the Sentry Tournament of Champions.

3M Open

Hodges earned his first career TOUR title at the 3M Open after defeating Martin Laird, Kevin Streelman, and J.T. Poston by seven strokes. The 28-year-old became the first wire-to-wire winner in tournament history and first on TOUR since Poston at the 2022 John Deere Classic. With his victory, Hodges qualified for his first trip to The Plantation Course at Kapalua and the Sentry Tournament of Champions.

As the PGA TOUR’s season-opening event in 2024, the Sentry Tournament of Champions will feature one of the most accomplished fields in golf at one of the most unique settings on the PGA TOUR. For more information about the 2024 event, please visit Fans are encouraged to follow Sentry Tournament of Champions on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.