Cook and Kizzire secure final two spots

37 players qualified for winners-only field in Maui

Kapalua, Maui, Hawaii – For a PGA TOUR victory, the destination after is always clear: Maui for the Sentry Tournament of Champions in January. Patton Kizzire and Austin Cook booked their first trips to Maui with their victories at the OHL Classic at Mayakoba and The RSM Classic, respectively, in the final two opportunities to secure a spot in the field.

The Sentry Tournament of Champions returns to The Plantation Course at Kapalua from January 3-7, 2018. In total, 37 players have qualified for the Sentry Tournament of Champions via their PGA TOUR victories during the 2017 calendar year, including 14 first-timers. Nine of the top-10 in the Official World Golf Rankings – world No. 1 Dustin Johnson, Jordan Spieth, Justin Thomas, Jon Rahm, Hideki Matsuyama, Justin Rose, Brooks Koepka, Rickie Fowler, and Henrik Stenson – are all qualified after posting victories on the PGA TOUR this year.

Kizzire held off Rickie Fowler down the stretch at the OHL Classic at Mayakoba two weeks ago to earn his first PGA TOUR victory and take the FedExCup points lead. The 31-year-old’s one-shot victory came in his 64th career start on TOUR and helped him secure his first start at The Plantation Course in January.

“I've been thinking about this moment for a long time. I haven't thought about it since the last putt went in, but I've been thinking about the exemptions and the Masters and Maui and all that stuff that goes along with winning for a long time,” said Kizzire after his victory. “I'm really excited and it brings a big smile to my face to think about all those things.”

In only his fourth start since securing his PGA TOUR card for the first time, Cook earned his own trip to Kapalua with a four-shot victory over J.J. Spaun at The RSM Classic. The 2017 Tour graduate took the lead with an 8-under 62 in the second round and held on to it over the weekend with rounds of 66-67. The victory moved Cook up to No. 3 in the FedExCup points standings.

“Fourth tournament with my TOUR card, that's pretty impressive if you ask me,” said Cook after his win about securing a spot in the Sentry Tournament of Champions. “I'm just super excited.”

The winners-only tournament will celebrate its 20th year on Maui along with a new chapter in the tournament’s history with Sentry Insurance as the new title sponsor. The event offers a variety of opportunities to get involved and up close with some of the game’s biggest stars that have qualified for the event, such as defending champion and reigning FedExCup champion Justin Thomas, 2015 champion Jordan Spieth, 2013 winner Dustin Johnson and Hideki Matsuyama.

The following 37 players have qualified for the 2018 Sentry Tournament of Champions:

Justin Thomas
Sentry Tournament of Champions, Sony Open in Hawaii, PGA Championship, Dell Technologies Championship, THE CJ CUP @ NINE BRIDGES
Hudson Swafford*
CareerBuilder Challenge
Jon Rahm*
Farmers Insurance Open
Hideki Matsuyama
Waste Management Phoenix Open, World Golf Championships-Bridgestone Invitational
Jordan Spieth
AT&T Pebble Beach Pro-Am, Travelers Championship, The Open Championship
Dustin Johnson
Genesis Open, World Golf Championships-Mexico Championship, World Golf Championships-Dell Technologies Match Play Championship, THE NORTHERN TRUST
Rickie Fowler
Honda Classic
D.A. Points
Puerto Rico Open
Adam Hadwin*
Valspar Championship
Marc Leishman
Arnold Palmer Invitational presented by Mastercard, BMW Championship
Russell Henley
Shell Houston Open
Sergio Garcia
Masters Tournament
Wesley Bryan*
RBC Heritage
Kevin Chappell*
Valero Texas Open
Cam Smith*
Zurich Classic of New Orleans
Jonas Blixt
Zurich Classic of New Orleans
Brian Harman
Wells Fargo Championship
Si Woo Kim
THE PLAYERS Championship
Billy Horschel
AT&T Byron Nelson
Kevin Kisner
Dean & Deluca Invitational
Jason Dufner
The Memorial Tournament presented by Nationwide
Daniel Berger
FedEx St. Jude Classic
Brooks Koepka
U.S. Open
Kyle Stanley
The National
Xander Schauffele*
Greenbrier Classic, TOUR Championship
Bryson DeChambeau*
John Deere Classic
Grayson Murray*
Barbasol Championship
Jhonattan Vegas
RBC Canadian Open
Chris Stroud*
Barracuda Championship
Henrik Stenson
Wyndham Championship
Brendan Steele
Safeway Open
Pat Perez
CIMB Classic
Justin Rose
World Golf Championships-HSBC Champions
Ryan Armour*
Sanderson Farms Championship
Patrick Cantlay*
Shriners Hospitals for Children Open
Patton Kizzire*
OHL Classic at Mayakoba
Austin Cook*
The RSM Classic
*signifies first time playing the Sentry Tournament of Champions